jump to navigation

Screencast Assessment- It’s a Small World Afterall November 15, 2007

Posted by Joselyn Todd in Educational Technology, screencast.
trackback

For those who have reading my blog entries, you will know that I have been exploring video production with my students for summative and formative assessment. To read my former entries about screencasting CLICK HERE and scroll down through the entries. The first one is at the bottom.

I think the power of the Internet and Web 2.0 is in many ways exemplified in the video here. One of my male students has made a trip to India with his family over the holiday break. He left a few days before the trimester was over so he had to complete one of our assignments. In this case it was a formative assessment, and I asked the students to create screencasts describing how to balance a chemical reaction. Note that these are 12-13 year old students. We had just completed an exciting chemical reaction experiment and the students simply loved it (mini explosions, lighting matches, sodium/water reactions, etc).

This morning I received my male student’s screencast describing how to balance a chemical reaction. I remind you that he is in India. He sent it to me via e-mail as he is carrying his tablet computer with him in India and likely found an Internet cafe to send his file to me. You will hear a bit of clicking in the video as he did not have a external mic with him. I don’t care… I am proud of him. His learning environment is 1/2 way across the world at this point.

CLICK HERE FOR HIS VIDEO or on the image above!

Please comment and let me know what you think of this means to determine knowledge and understanding.

Comments»

1. JB - January 30, 2008

Cool video–nice assessment & not paper pencil.

2. Hugh - November 23, 2009

Hi,
Thanks for the screencast.
Please tell me what software you used for the the guy writing

Regards

Hugh


Leave a Reply

